Friday, November 24, 2006

Design History: The Bauhaus

The Bauhaus, 1919-1933, was a teaching institution formed to bring unity between art and technology. It was a response to the fracturing of the unity of design and execution that was part of ninteenth century craft trades but was slowly being lost with the introduction of industrial modes of production.

(The Bauhaus masters from the left: Josef Albers, Hinnerk Scheper, Georg Muche, László Moholy-Nagy, Herbert Bayer, Joost Schmidt, Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, Vassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Lyonel Feininger, Gunta Stölzl and Oskar Schlemme)

This group's collective aim was to define a new aesthetic under the primacy of architecture; and a social consciousness that aligned production with the needs of the general population.This school of thought and practice planted the seeds of modern design and has influenced design across the globe.

Bauhaus Archive Musuem

No comments: